Les Bijoux: Adeam F/W ’14

I discovered this line by Japanese designer Hanako Maeda last season, I believe,  and I fell in love with her mix of furs, leathers and  ingenious prints. This season, my girl is back at it!

I find that she  is often inspired by flowers; last season it was hydrangeas and this season it is the pale blush of chrysanthemums against white snow.  Paradoxically, Maeda often includes a dark palette in her collections, which provides an interesting balance between the soft and hard components; this season’s collection includes notes of white, pale pink, gray and black.

I was looking forward to the inclusion of fur and leather, especially after seeing those wide-leg leather trousers, but I fell for the technique– of course.  There were a range of silhouettes, high slits, mix of textures, great draping and pleating, great separates and fabulous coats. One technique I really love is that fur seems to be an integral part in a few of the designs; a black dress with a diagonal strip of fur across the chest, the black wraparound coat (reminiscent of a dress) with an outer layer of fur, the half-leather half-fur coat (fav!)–these looks really show the multiple influences of this collection.

I can’t help but feel like there are menswear inspirations peeking through as well after seeing more than a few pieces donning pinstripes, oxford-like necklines and slits high enough to make skirt panels resemble pant legs. Is it just me? Oh well.

Check it out yourself!

*favorites: looks 3, 4 & 5

\ *photo credits to wwd.com

Thoughts?

